Old Nick Village in Plettenberg Bay is a landmark shopping destination on the Garden Route, featuring an eclectic collection of shops owned by creative manufacturers, designers and curators, Old Nick Village is so much more than a shopping centre it’s a truly sensory experience for the whole family as well as the discerning buyer. Originally built way back in 1880, Old Nick Village has a long and rich trading history, find out more here.
Every Wednesday we host the Mid Week Market where you can find homegrown fruit and vegetables, ethically farmed meat and dairy as well as other local, natural and homemade products.
Old Nick Village boasts a carefully selected mix of merchants who are all creative manufacturers in their own right. Each shop has its individual signature enhancing your shopping experience. Some traders have eCommerce websites and supply the wholesale market.
To host a vibrant and ever evolving shopping experience whilst promoting fine craftsmanship, art and design.
To be aware of our proximity to nature and our unique position as custodians of one of the few historic Cape farms in Plettenberg Bay that is open to the public.
We highlight the extraordinary and inspiring connection between ancient crafts, innovative manufacture and contemporary artistic design.
To stay ‘honest’ in a world of hype and superficiality by deepening the experience of all who visit and work at Old Nick Village through respect and opportunity to grow, learn and enjoy the best that we can offer.
Old Nick Village boasts a carefully selected complementary mix of merchants all of whom are creative manufacturers show casing a combination of locally inspired design. Some traders also have e-commerce sites and supply to the wholesale market.
The core buildings of Old Nick Village were built in the 1880’s by Aaron Toplis who immigrated to South Africa as a young boy along with a party of artisans brought out from England by the land owner William Newdigate to develop his country estate. When Aaron married in 1880 he built a large family home on the farm Gansevallei (meaning the whole valley) where he farmed and traded. Around 1900 he built the Gansvlei Algemene Handelaar (now the Mungo shop) which was one of the few general dealers in the hamlet of Plettenberg Bay. This trading store eventually closed its doors in the 1960’s, but not for long.
Another wily Englishman, Spike Devine, moved into town. He set up shop selling second hand furniture most of which was not in good ‘ nick’. His shop was in the old Plett gaol or ‘the old nick’ which is slang for gaol in his home country. So the shop was called Old Nick and when he moved to Gansvlei he brought along the name. This complex of farm buildings has been known as Old Nick ever since. and then…..
In 1978 a third Englishman, Stuart Holding with his wife Janet, weaver and potter respectively moved in, built hand-looms and a wood firing kiln and set up studios in the old shop selling their wares to passing travelers and holiday makers. Over the next 20 years they built up a reputation for quality and originality.
In 1998 the Holding Family bought the whole complex of old farm buildings, shop, farmhouse and stables and with sensitive renovation created spaces for other artists craftsmen and designers which has brought an additional element to a truly different slant to a shopping expedition. The pathways are accented with benches made from repurposed parts of weaving equipment. The overgrown gardens and tall indigenous trees stand as guardians of the past and protectors of the future.
Old Nick Village boasts an exceptional group of retailers all of whom design and/or make or sell products of Africa and particularly South Africa fueling our economy and cementing our vast creative potential.
Old Nick Village is without doubt an asset to Plettenberg Bay in terms of local manufacture and a magnet for tourists on the Garden Route.
We work towards being – Sustainable – Ethical – Local
We train, empower and give opportunity to our employees. Our support for emerging entrepreneurs, empowerment projects and education continues to enrich the offering at Old Nick Village.
The Mungo Mill showcases a cross-section of weaving production from pre-industrial revolution to present day. It is a space for production, public appreciation and a first hand experience of our commitment to transparency and accountability for what we make and do.
On Friday the 17th of November we celebrated the official opening of the new Mungo Mill – It was an overwhelming occasion for everyone at Mungo to see the culmination of many years of planning and work. The building has been self-funded by Mungo and was conceptualized years ago. Ground was finally broken and the build started in January 2017. Already it seems to have become a new landmark in Plettenberg Bay, towering proudly over the landscape at Old Nick Village on the N2.
The mill has not only become our new thriving hub of production, but also the embodiment of our commitment to transparency in what we make and do. We strive to help shape and uphold the standards of sustainable production. We challenge the idea that value is a product of price. We don’t compromise on production methods or cost of raw materials when it comes to producing a quality product. We believe strongly that what we create and the manner in which we create it will filter down to the end user and help to improve the world we live in – Dax Holding
The new Mungo Mill was designed by Architect Andrea Cristoforetti. Where possible, it is built using materials and contractors that are local to the area. One of the most distinguishable characteristics of the building is a wooden slatted ‘skin’ that wraps around an elevated walkway running along the front. It was inspired by the overlapping warp threads and angles seen on the heddles of a loom. The curved façade also emulates fabric folds. Visitors enter through a set of arched glass doors and can walk through the production process from weaving to CMT. A large central, double volume room houses our collection of 16 restored looms from different weaving eras and can be seen from an elevated viewing deck that weaves from the walkway into the mill. Outside, a water feature snakes around the entrance and under the ‘skin’ of the building.
Looking to the future, we have already planned a second phase which will house all our warping equipment as well a museum which will showcase the history of weaving from preindustrial revolution to present day.
We are respectful of our role as custodians of this historic site.
Imagination and possibility never lies dormant in the Holding home. The long awaited upgrade and expansion of Old Nick Village is on the way. As the second generation makes it’s mark with enthusiasm and opportunity for growth the Old Nick story gains relevance in the 21st century and is unfolding in a multitude of ways.